The British Geotechnical Association (BGA) is the principal
association for geotechnical engineers in the United Kingdom.

Fleming Award - Call for Entries

Invitation to enter The Fleming Competition 2014

Invitation to enter The Fleming Competition 2014

Entry Requirements

The Fleming Competition is held annually to commemorate the life and work of Dr Ken Fleming and to recognise excellence in the practical application of Geotechnics in a project or a part of a project.  Entries are invited from teams which will typically include representatives from Clients, Main Contractors, Consulting Engineers, Specialist Contractors and so on.  The Award will be presented to the Project Team which most demonstrates excellence in geotechnical design and construction.  There will be an emphasis on teamwork across the different disciplines involved in the project.  Consideration will also be given to projects which are innovative.

Each Team is expected to comprise between three and six people, at least one of whom must be a member of the BGA.


A brief description of the project (or section of a larger project) should be provided, with illustrations/ diagrams as appropriate.  The text and illustrations should occupy no more than two A4 pages, ie four sides.  The organisations and BGA individual or corporate members in the team should be identified, with contact details for one person to deal with correspondence from the BGA.

Submissions should be marked “Fleming Award 2014” and either sent directly to the BGA or to Cementation Skanska (see contact details below) by 11th July 2014.  Please confirm that permission to enter the Competition has at least been sought from clients/co-entrants and be pending if not formally obtained by that date.  Ground Engineering Magazine will also recommend suitable geotechnical projects featured in articles published between September 2013 and June 2014.  The BGA will decide on a shortlist and finalists will be notified by mid-August 2014.

The final of the competition will be held on Wednesday 10th December 2014 at ICE, from 6.00 pm.  Each team will give a short presentation (about 20-25 minutes with questions afterwards), after which the judges, selected from members of the BGA Executive Committee, previous winner(s) and industry leaders, will retire to consider their verdict.  There will be a short keynote lecture while the judges reach their decision.

The Prize

A prize of £1,000, donated by Cementation Skanska, will be awarded to and divided equally amongst the members of the winning team.

Contact details:  Cementation Skanska, Maple Cross House, Denham Way, Maple Cross, Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire, WD3 9SW;

telephone: 01923 423522 or e-mail;

Become a Member

Join the British Geotechnical Association to keep up to date with the latest BGA news