The British Geotechnical Association (BGA) is the principal
association for geotechnical engineers in the United Kingdom.

Call for Entries for the Fleming Award Competition 2019

Call for Entries for the Fleming Award Competition - Deadline 15 October 2019

The BGA is pleased to invite entries for the Fleming Competition. This is held annually to commemorate the life and work of Dr Ken Fleming and to recognise excellence in the practical application of geotechnics in a project or a part of a project.

A list of previous winners and finalists can be viewed here.

Entries are invited from Project Teams who have worked on geotechnical projects that have been substantially completed within the two years prior to the award date of December 2019.

Submitting teams will typically include representatives from Clients, Main Contractors, Consulting Engineers, Specialist Contractors and so on. The award will be presented to the Project Team which most demonstrates excellence in geotechnical design & construction. There will be an emphasis on teamwork across the different disciplines involved in the project. Consideration will also be given to projects which are innovative.

Each Team is expected to comprise between three and six people, at least one of whom must be a member of the BGA.

There is a prize of £1,000, donated by Cementation Skanska Foundations.

Requirements for submissions can be found here.

An application form can be downloaded here.

Submissions should be sent to by the deadline of midnight on 15th October 2019.

The final of the competition will be held on Wednesday 4th December 2019, at ICE, starting at 6:30pm. There will be a short keynote lecture while the judges reach their decision. The judges will be selected from members of the BGA Executive Committee, previous winner(s) and industry leaders.

Become a Member

Join the British Geotechnical Association to keep up to date with the latest BGA news