The British Geotechnical Association (BGA) is the principal
association for geotechnical engineers in the United Kingdom.

National Committee

The committee comprises a Chairman, Vice-Chairman, two Representatives of the Institution of Civil Engineers, nine Elected Members and one representative of each of the Geological Society of London (Geol Soc), the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3), the British Tunnelling Society (BTS). Additional committee members may be co-opted for periods of up to three years for the purpose of carrying out specific tasks. There are also three Honorary Officers (Secretary, Treasurer and Publicity Officer) who are not entitled to vote and who are not trustees of the charity.

No description available
No description available
No description available
No description available
No description available
No description available
No description available
No description available
No description available

The current committee members are:

National Committee of the British Geotechnical Association


David Toll

University of Durham
Vice Chair

Andrew Ridley

Geotechnical Observations
Honorary Secretary Nick Armstrong Fugro
Honorary Treasurer

Yvonne Ainsworth

Gavin & Doherty Geosolutions

Honorary Communications Officer

Martin Preene

Richter Associates
ICE Secretariat

Kate Beardsley

Institution of Civil Engineers

Elected member Chris BarkerArup
Elected member Yuli (Chaido) Doulala-RigbyTensar
Elected member Stephanie MarkvukajMott MacDonald
Elected member

Kevin Briggs

University of Bath
Elected member Katerina Tsiampousi
Imperial College London
Elected member

Giulia Viggiani

University of Cambridge
Elected member

Dimitrios Daskalopoulos

Mott MacDonald
Elected member

Georgios Katsigiannis

Ferrovial Construction UK
Elected member

Stephen Thomas

OGI Groundwater Specialists

BTS representative

Paul Perry

Hewson Consulting Engineers
Geological Society Representative

John Davis

Geotechnical Consulting Group
IOM3 representative

Emilio Linde-Arias

ISRM representative

James Lawrence

Imperial College London
Co-opted member – Early Career Group

Emily Riley

Co-opted member – Early Career Group Gary Evans Plowman Craven
Co-opted member – Technicians

Peter Reading

Peter Reading Geotechnical Consulting Ltd
Co-opted member – Rankine James Lawrence Imperial College London
Co-opted member - UK RoGEP, ISSMGE Neil Smith Gavin & Doherty Geosolutions
Co-opted member - Cooling Prize Sergio Solera Mott MacDonald
Co-opted member - Ground Forum Tony Bowerman Mott MacDonald
Continuing member – BSI

Graham Taylor

Mott MacDonald
Guest - FMGM Andrew Ridley Geotechnical Observations
Guest - IGS

Patricia Guerra-Escobar

Geosynthetics Limited
Guest - AGS

Adam Latimer

Ian Farmer Ltd
Guest - Ground Engineering Magazine

Nia Kajastie

Ground Engineering
Honorary Member – ISSMGE

Neil Taylor

City University
Extraordinary Honorary Member

Robert Mair

University of Cambridge

Become a Member

Join the British Geotechnical Association to keep up to date with the latest BGA news