The British Geotechnical Association (BGA) is the principal
association for geotechnical engineers in the United Kingdom.


View the list of Chalk 2018 committee members below:

Conference Organizing Committee:

Chairman: Dr Martin Preene (Chairman of the BGA)
Organising Secretary: Dr James Lawrence (Imperial College London)
Assistant Organising Secretary: Dr Roisin Buckley (Imperial College London)
Assistant Organising Secretary: Dr Matteo Ciantia (University of Dundee)
Treasurer: Alex Carbray (independent consultant)
Publicity Chair: Patrick Cox (AECOM)
Programme Chair: Dr Gareth Swift (University of Portsmouth)
EGGS Representative: Dr Ursula Lawrence (Capita)

Technical Theme Leaders

Case histories of construction and engineering in Chalk: Dr Tim Newman (Thames Tideway)

Earthworks in Chalk: Keith Nicholls (Network Rail)
Foundations and piling in Chalk: David Hard (Bachy Soletanche)
Future engineering issues in Chalk: Neil Hadlow (CH2M)
Geological hazards in Chalk: Dr Clive Edmonds (PBA)
Offshore engineering in Chalk: Miguel Andrade (Orsted Energy)
Site investigation/characterization in Chalk: Keith Reeves (HS2)
Testing – in situ and laboratory: Dr Fanny Descamps (University of Mons, Belgium)
Tunnelling in Chalk: Dr Rob Talby (Mott MacDonald)
Water and the environment: Dr Ursula Lawrence (Capita)


Become a Member

Join the British Geotechnical Association to keep up to date with the latest BGA news